Skip to main content


The APEC CEO Summit, one of the world’s premier business and government events in 2021, will use innovative broadcast technology, satellite events and an impressive, interactive set and staging to virtually connect audiences across 21 APEC economies from the Aotea Centre in Auckland, New Zealand, on 11-12 November (NZT).

International programme

Time Zone Asia (CST)

Time Zone US (EST)

New Zealand programme

Thursday 11 November


Summit Opening and Pōwhiri

Welcoming remarks by the CEO Summit Chair Barbara Chapman

Summit Opening Address with Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern

Address: APEC Leader


The State of the World

Keynote: The Economic State of the World with Bob Moritz, Global Chairman, PwC

Panel: The Economic State of the World

  • Mathias Cormann, OECD Secretary-General
  • Moderator - Dr Alan Bollard CNZM, Former Executive Director of APEC
  • Jan De Silva, President and Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Region Board of Trade
  • Mary Huen, Executive Director of Standard Chartered

Address: APEC Leader 


Recovery, with and post COVID-19

Keynote interview: COVID-19 recovery with Rt. Hon Helen Clark

Panel: Trade in a COVID world

  • Diane Wang, Founder, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer, DHgate
  • Bob Pragada, President and Chief Operating Officer, Jacobs Engineering Group
  • Fraser Whineray, Chief Operating Officer, Fonterra

Address: APEC Leader


The Digital Disruption Opportunity

Keynote: The Business of Technology with Amber Mac, President, Ambermac Media

Panel: Digital Trade

  • Hafimi Abdul Haadii, Executive Director, LVK Group of Companies
  • Dr Shiro Armstrong, Associate Professor, Australian National University
  • Jamie Lin, President, Taiwan Mobile

Keynote: Digital Equity with Amal Clooney, International Human Rights Lawyer


The Sustainability Imperative

Address: APEC Leader

Keynote: Sustainability and Climate Change with Dr David Suzuki, Broadcaster, Scientist, Author, Grandfather

Panel: A Sustainable Future

  • Michelle Bachelet, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
  • Rachel Taulelei, Chair, APEC Business Advisory Council
  • Heekyung Jo Min, Executive Vice-President, CJ CheilJedang
  • Julia Torreblanca, Vice President of Corporate Affairs of Sociedad Minera Cerro Verde SAA

The Future of Energy

Address: APEC Leader

Keynote: Future Energy Challenges with Robyn Denholm, Chair of Tesla Inc

Panel: Future Energy Solutions

  • Moderator - Malcolm Johns, Chief Executive Officer, Christchurch International Airport
  • Li Zhenguo, Founder and President of LONGi
  • Sir Stephen Tindall GNZM, Co-Founder and Philanthropist
4:45pmCEO Summit day close
Friday 12 November

The Primacy of Trust

Keynote: The Primacy of Trust with Richard Edelman, Chief Executive Officer, Edelman

Panel: Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG)

  • Andrew Grant, Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company
  • Karen Silk, General Manager Linc Strategy Sustainability & CEO BTNZ, Westpac NZ
  • Kristin Stubbins, Partner, PwC

Keynote interview: Sustainable Business Leadership with Tony Fernandes, Co-founder AirAsia


The Next Focus for Business

Address: APEC Leader interview

Keynote: The Next Focus for Business with Jonathan Haidt, Professor, New York University Stern School of Business

Panel: Business as a Force for Good

  • Sabin M. Aboitiz, President and Chief Executive Officer, Aboitiz Group
  • Yumiko Murakami, General Partner, MPower Partners
  • Arihia Bennett. Chief Executive Officer, Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu

Technology and Innovation

Address: APEC Leader

Panel: The State of the World with COVID 19


Looking to the Future

Keynote: Listening to other Voices with Jerome Foster

Panel: Looking to the Future

  • Moderator – Oriini Kaipara, APEC CEO Summit host
  • Tabatha Bull, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business
  • Kristal Kinsela, Director, Kristal Kinsela Consultancy
  • Rangimarie Hunia, Chief Executive of Ngāti Whātua Ōrakei Whai Maia

Voices of the Future Declaration

Address: APEC Leader


Closing address by CEO Summit Chair Barbara Chapman

Handover to Thailand

4:00pmSummit close

Additional content

What have we learnt?

  • Moderator - Tim McCready
  • Brent Wilton, Principal Tuhana Business and Human Rights
  • Hannah Pattullo

What's next for New Zealand?

  • Moderator - Ziena Jalil
  • Sir Peter Gluckman, President of International Science COuncil; Director of Koi Tu the Centre for Informed Futures, University of Auckland
  • Dame Theresa Gattung, CNZM
  • Christina Leef

APEC LIVE with Business 

A sustainable and resilient APEC food system with Fonterra

  • MC and Moderator, Fran O'Sullivan, Journalist, New Zealand
  • Miles Hurrell, Chief Executive Officer, Fonterra
  • Vangelis Vitalis, Deputy Secretary Trade and Economic
  • Keynote: Matt Kovac, Executive Director, Food Industry Asia

Panel discussion

  • Judith Swales, Chief Executive Officer Asia Pacific, Fonterra
  • Bridget Coates, Co-Chair, Sustainable Finance Forum
  • Corrigan Sowman, Former Nuffield Scholar and Uruwhenua Farms Ltd

The digital future of the Asia-Pacific with Microsoft 

  • MC and Moderator, Jehan Casinader, award-winning New Zealand journalist
  • Vanessa Sorenson, Managing Director Microsoft New Zealand

Panel discussion

  • Hon Dr David Clark, Minister for the Digital Economy and Communications, New Zealand
  • H.E. Chaiwut Thanakamanusorn, Minister of Digital Economy and Society, Thailand
  • Anna Curzon, Chief Product Officer, Xero and ABAC NZ member
  • Mike Yeh, Asia Vice-President, Corporate, External and Legal Affairs, Microsoft

Indigenous inclusion in the global financial economy - Together Greater with Westpac NZ

  • MC and Moderator, Carol Hirschfeld, MC, Head of Video/Audio and Content Partnerships, Stuff
  • Cultural open and close, Jason Lock, Acting General Manager - Consumer Banking and Wealth, Westpac NZ
  • Simon Power, Acting CEO, Westpac NZ
  • Keynote: Sir Ian Taylor, Founder/Managing Director, Animation Research

Panel discussion:

  • Linda Te Aho, Chair, Te Arataura - Waikato-Tainui
  • Mavis Mullins, Chair, Atihau-Whanganui Inc
  • Lucy Pelletier, Chair, Saskatchewan Indian Equity Foundation Canada
  • Closing remarks, Rachel Taulelei, Chair, APEC Business Advisory Council

The Business of Trust with PwC

  • MC and moderator, Nadine Higgins, award-winning journalist and broadcaster
  • Mark Averill, Chief Executive Officer and Senior Partner, PwC, New Zealand
  • Key note: Tim Ryan, Chairman and Senior Partner, PwC United States

Panel discussion:

  • Hon James Shaw, Minister for Climate Change, New Zealand
  • Tim Ryan, Chairman and Senior Partner, PwC, United States
  • Esther An, Chief Sustainability Officer, City Developments Limited, Singapore
  • Michele Embling, Chair XRB, Board Member, Centre for Sustainable Finance, New Zealand


Thanks to our Premier Partners